Wednesday, January 9, 2013

UPDATED: Belgium GAA (Still) Needs You


The AGM takes place on Wednesday 30 January 2013, from 19h00. 

Everyone attending the AGM is requested to fill in their details here (url: 

This information is requested for all attendees (not just those who need Parliament passes) so as to keep track of numbers.

Please note: the deadline for nominations and motions is today, 18 January 2013

It's January 2013. Don't worry - it isn't time to go back to training yet (that time will come in February) but it is time to get back to the business of running this club. 

With that in mind, the 2013 Annual General Meeting (AGM) will take place in the European Parliament on Wednesday 30 January. You will be contacted by your relevant code officer in the coming weeks to submit your details for access to the Parliament, as well as more information on the time and exact location of the meeting. If you are not on one of the lists, please send an email to

Ah, the AGM. It's an exciting time, so much hangs in the balance. 2013 is no exception. For once, the majority of the current committee is leaving office. Familiar faces such as Colin Byrne, Jane Brennan and Phil Cushen are moving on from committee life. Don't be afraid. The club will continue. Fresh blood and new ideas are always welcome.

Any club member is entitled to put their name forward for any of the positions on the committeeAre you one such eager beaver? Do you yearn for power and responsibility? Do you believe that there is more to a club than what takes place on the pitch during training or a match? Or do you just want to pay forward the work of current and previous committee members. If so, Belgium GAA needs you.

Below you will see a list of the roles and the current occupants (those in red have indicated that they will not stand for re-election).

Chair - Aonghus O Muirtheartaigh - Maria Brosnan nominated
Secretary - Jane Brennan - Jelena Radakovic nominated
Assistant Secretary Irish Club Liaison Officer - Caoimhe Ní Shuilleabháin
Treasurer - Oliver Swan
Men's Football - Colin Byrne - Gavin Flynn nominated
Ladies Football - Anna Bates - no nominations to replace
Camogie - Christine O' Gorman  - no nominations to replace
Hurling - Shane Ryan
Equipment Officer - Phil Cushen - David Kitching nominated
Social Secretary - Maria Brosnan  - no nominations to replace
PRO - Sylvia McCarthy - Paul Quinn nominated

Here is the important part: to date, only two nominations have been received. These are Jelena Radakovic to replace Jane Brennan, and David Kitching to replace Phil Cushen. 

Please note: your nomination is only valid if you communicate it directly to Jane Brennan ( That drunken conversation you had with the lads in the pub does not count as a nomination. 

Jane has kindly extended the deadline for nominations to 18 January, so get cracking!! If you have any questions about what any of these roles entail, please don't hesitate to get in contact with any of the existing officers for more information.

A lot depends on this meeting, not least because it is the one time during the year when everyone gets together in a formal setting to discuss the future of the club. Anything that happens during the year, from committee meetings to tournament management to  training locations, will stem from this meeting. If you do not attend and do not have any input (unless for a very good reason), then you really don't have the right to complain about any decisions made during the year.

No comments:

Post a Comment